22 May 2017

Geographically, Surakarta is located between 110045’15”-110045’35” east longitude and 7036’00” – 7056’00” south longitude, with an area of ​​approximately 4404.06 ha. Surakarta also located in the basin between two mountains, that is Merapi mount and Lawu mount  in the east and bordered by Bengawan Solo River  in the south.

From the traffic liaison aspect on the Java island, the position of Surakarta is on a strategic path that is meeting point that connected Semarang to Yogyakarta ( Joglosemar ), also Yogyakarta and Surabaya lines . With this strategic position, it is no wonder Surakarta became an important business center for the surrounding regent.

When viewed from the territorial limits, Surakarta city is surrounded by 3 regent. North is bordered by Karanganyar and Boyolali regent, on the east bordered Karanganyar and Sukoharjo regent, on the south by Sukoharjo regent , and on the west is bordered by Sukoharjo and Karanganyar regent.

Meanwhile administratively, Surakarta consists of 5 ( five ) sub-districts, ie Laweyan, Serengan, Pasar Kliwon, Jebres and Banjarsari. From the five districts , divided into 51 sub-districts , 595 Pillars of Citizens ( RW ) and the Neighborhood 2669 ( RT ) .